The Jungle Book (2016) – Personal Movie Review

image

The movie tells a story about the man-cub named Mowgli who flees the jungle after a threat from the tiger Shere Khan. Guided by Bagheera the panther and the bear Baloo, Mowgli embarks on a journey of self-discovery, though he also meets creatures who don’t have his best interests at heart. (c) IMDb

This year’s ‘The Jungle Book’ is a live-action adaptation of Disney’s own 1967 aminated movie and based on Rudyard Kipling’s novel.

When the news broke out about Disney’s plan to make a live-action adaptation of this classic animated movie, I was hesitant to accept the reality on how they will give justice to this beloved movie. As you may know, the animated movie is one of my favorite Disney movies of all time and I was disapproving considering it will be infested with a lot of CGI and I don’t want them ruining the classic movie the way they did to Sleeping Beauty through ‘Maleficent’.

My expectations weren’t that high and I wasn’t that pumped to see to preserve the reputation it had 50 years ago but I was blown away when I watched the flick. The visual effects were stunning and impressive. I haven’t seen such a quality of a movie and the nostalgia it brought really kicked in. I applaud Favreau for a very great job in keeping the movie almost true to its source material while using state-of-the-art CGI effect. I really felt everything was real considering Mowgli is the only real character int his film. The jungle animals were very realistic and the attention to details are just brilliant.

The casting was perfect and did a great job in voicing over the characters. They really captured the emotions and brought the animals to life. I love how effective Neel Sethi is as Mowgli and how he did justice to his character. The scoring really complimented each scenes of the film and incorporating classic songs like Bare Neccesities really gave the movie the Disney touch.

I love how the movie is fast paced with a good combination of humor, drama and grittiness. There were never a dull or boring moments and weren’t any wasted scenes or frames. It was really engaging and entertaining. The flow of the story is very simple and easy to understand. It is good that Favreau really thinks of who his target audience and market is… the children and children-at-heart.

For this movie, I will rate 4.8 out of 5 stars for its entertainment value and I still felt the charm and innocence it had the way I felt when I saw the animated version. I will surely recommend you watch the film.

Photo credits to the owners.

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Cinema, Film, Film & TV, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

