The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 (2015) – Personal Movie Review

images (5).jpg

The penultimate movie to ‘The Hunger Games’ franchise, Mockingjay Part 2 sets a very high expectation to the audience and moviegoers but this movie disappoints me big time. I read some comments that this movie is very faithful to the novel and for me became the problem itself as they haven’t provided a more creative ending to the well-loved franchise.

Because of what transpired, I really anticipated they will end the franchise with a big bang like what other franchise is good at. I felt the finale didn’t give justice to what should be a grandiose and ambitious culmination and is too lengthy which sacrificed the pacing that became a roller coaster. The slow pacing bothered me as I became bored. It would have been good if they compressed the film, bring in more action scenes as the script is already great and the editing near the final minutes and moments of the film was done hastily. I felt the first part is way better directed and shot compared to Part 2. However, it is worthy to note the cinematography and use of visual effects were well made as these helped set the tone for gritty scenes. Even the scoring delivered the thrill and suspense.

I give my appreciation to the cast who made the entire film interesting. Jennifer Lawrence’s performance as Katniss delivered a stellar, raw and realistic portrayal. Josh Hutcherson also gave a convincing acting performance, one we can hate and love. Everyone has chemistry and it is compelling enough which the movie needs to salvage this movie.

Overall, I liked the movie but not as much with other movies in the franchise, however, it is a quality movie. I will give the movie 3 out of 5 stars.

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Cinema, Film, Film & TV, Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

