The Last Witch Hunter (2015) – Personal Movie Review

images (1)

The Last Witch Hunter tells a story of Kaulder who was able to successfully kill the Witch Queen centuries ago however cursed him with her own immortality before her death. His immortality became his own burden which separated him from his wife and daughter and lived until the present time unbeknownst to him that the Witch Queen will be resurrected to take over the world again. Now, the survival of the human race will be in the hands of Kaulder as the Last Witch Hunter.

I didn’t have much expectation for this movie at all when I watched this because I know for a fact that this is another one of that cliched movies where there is a battle between good and evil with some twists and we all know what to expect for its ending scene of a mainstream movie… you know what I mean!

However, I had mixed emotions about the movie as the premise seemed entertaining and this kind of genre interests me especially the mythology of it and I understand that because there are plenty of subplots that need to be explained especially character development, they need the film to be a bit long but due to its length, the pacing somehow became like a roller coaster ride where there were moments that are dragging, which bored me, & there are moments where it was fast. This concerns me a bit in behalf of other moviegoers during those dragging moments since there are scenes which are vital to the plot but because of how it was portrayed or delivered, you might feel that it is just a passing by scene and the impact isn’t felt that much. The cinematography was good but I still feel that the CGI isn’t that realistic enough to draw my attention with regards to its effect visually.

The cast though are right fit to their characters. I like how Rose Leslie portrayed her role. I felt her sincerity however, I feel that Vin Diesel is portraying Riddick but it fizzled down as the movie went on. Michael Caine is, as always, a . Elijah Wood’s performance didn’t sell me for the entire especially during the twist.

Although the movie isn’t a quality film, I can still get over it as a good popcorn movie which is better that those films like The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, The Seventh Son, etc. and I feel that they are attempting to make a franchise out of this movie, so I will expect a sequel of this. I will give the movie 2 out of 5 stars.

Photo credits to Summit Entertainment/Lionsgate Production

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Cinema, Fantasy, Film, Film & TV, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Witch Hunter (2015) – Personal Movie Review

  1. Nice review, to be honest this film looks like it will fall into the depths of obscurity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

