Legend (2015) – Personal Movie Review

legendAs per the film’s IMDb page, it tells the story of the identical twin gangsters Reggie and Ronnie Kray, two of the most notorious criminals in British history, and their organised crime empire in the East End of London during the 1960s.

I was having mixed emotions when I watched this flick because of Tom Hardy’s brilliant performance as the Kray twin gangsters. His portrayal is really effective and realistic that I felt I really am seeing two Hardy. He was able to compellingly separate both characters so the moviegoers & fans like me can easily distinguish who’s who. He was classy yet rough as the role really required and I feel that his performance is worthy for an Oscar nomination. However, whenever I hear Ron speak, I pictured him out as Bane since his voice is somehow similar to Ronnie’s but I will look past it.

I think the movie left an impression that the title only lived up to Tom’s performance because the film was missing something that made me feel that it is a gangster movie. I know that it is a biopic flick but they were too focused on the relationship between the twins as well as the love story of Reggie and Frances. It could have been more engaging and interesting if they made the movie less light and brought in more brutality. The scoring though seemed to be a little inappropriate though it was set on the 60’s but it might be helpful for the film to have a grittier arrangement to really have a darker tone since the cinematography was already neatly done. Also, they could’ve compressed some scenes to lessen the screen time.

Anyway, I really enjoyed the movie as I get to see another side of Tom Hardy’s acting performance plus the supporting cast really did great and blended well with each other. Though I don’t condone or patronize gangsters but I think this is a quality film which gave us an opportunity to consciously remind us a little bit about their history. I will give the movie 3.5 out of 5 stars.

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Biopic, Cinema, Film, Film & TV, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

