Crimson Peak (2015) – Personal Movie Review

crimson“After marrying the charming and seductive Sir Thomas Sharpe, young Edith (Mia Wasikowska) finds herself swept away to his remote Gothic mansion in the English hills. Also living there is Lady Lucille, Thomas’ alluring sister and protector of her family’s dark secrets. Able to communicate with the dead, Edith tries to decipher the mystery behind the ghostly visions that haunt her new home. As she comes closer to the truth, Edith may learn that true monsters are made of flesh and blood.”

This movie is one of my most anticipated movies of 2015 because the trailer bought me from the story, cast and most importantly, the director. I was having mixed emotions when I saw the flick as I was really betting on a horror tale but all I see is a Gothic drama which revolves around the love story of Edith and Thomas. It’s true that there were some creepy scenes (including the eerie haunted house) but not to the extent that scared me off the edge of my seat. The ghostly sights in the movie are just signs and answers/affirmation of something gruesome inside the house which further gave it character and life. I like that the ghostly figures are significant characters as well as it linked to the dark secrets of the past.

Though the plot is quite a cliche but it is in the way they captured each scenes and the twist made it very engaging & interesting which left me hooked from start to finish. There are no wasted frames for the movie as all scenes are important for story and character development. As always, the film has all the signs of a Del Toro touch since the movie is visually brilliant from the cinematography which perfectly set a dark, gloomy and creepy tone to the production set/props and the scoring. There are few gory scenes which made it more realistic. The cast perfectly portrayed & owned each characters and I only felt the characters of Tom, Jessica and Mia. Their performances exceeds my expectation especially Jessica’s role which I really felt intimidated. I love how they delivered their lines to a point that it was very poetic and theatrical or is it basically because of their accent that made it more classy.

All in all, I will give the movie 4 out of 5 stars for being visually entertaining, excellent casting choice, plot twist, wonderful story telling and good production value.

Photo credit to the owner.

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Cinema, Fantasy, Film, Film & TV, Horror, Movies, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

