Cooties (2014/2015) – Personal Movie Review

images (5)

I was kind of excited to learn that this movie existed. I mean the premise of the movie seems to be interesting enough for me to give it a try and watch it… and it failed me. Though it should be a good mixture of comedy and thriller (I can’t even say categorize it as a horror flick) but it was just one of those movies which really tried hard to be effective in their mashed genre and it fell flat in all aspects.

To start off, this is a story of an Elementary-school teachers (Elijah Wood, Alison Pill, Rainn Wilson) come under attack from children who have been turned into vicious monsters by contaminated chicken nuggets. The film had its world premiere at the Sundance Film Festival on January 18, 2014. The film was released on September 18, 2015 in a limited release and through by Lionsgate Premiere (Source: Wikipedia page).

I said before that I love indie films as they give juicy and relevant stories but this is an exemption. The comedy is just sloppy and stupid; the horror aspect of the film is just too cliched and obvious. I can’t even grasp which market is this movie focusing on if it is for adults or for younger viewers since this is boring for adults but too gory for the younger demographic. I can’t seem to find any redeemable qualities of this film even the acting performances of these actors fell short and awkward; I was even surprise the lame supporting casts didn’t die since I presume that was the formula of a horror movie. Alison Pill’s character is reminiscent to her role in The Newsroom as she is again involved with a fling while still in a relationship and I still see her as Maggie. Ah! there is indeed a little bit ounce of redemption for this movie… props to the make up and practical effects team for those bloody scenes.

All in all, I will give 1.5 out of 5 stars for wasting my time and for giving me high expectation which failed me miserably. Yup! I just hated the movie!

Photo credits to the owner.

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Cinema, Comedy, Film, Horror, Indie, Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

