Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation (Personal Movie Review)

image

As always, the movie was shown in UAE one week late but it didn’t stop me to be pumped up with this movie and it did not disappoint. Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation is the fifth installment of the MI franchise starring Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg, Rebecca Ferguson, Sean Harris, and many others. It is co-written and directed by Christopher McQuarrie.

Well, at first I was hesitant to see this and my expectation is very low as it has become that of a Fast & Furious feel where it came to be a franchise exhaustion and wanted it to stop but I was wrong! This has to be the best movie in the franchise and I congratulate the director for a job well done. Well, I am not surprise that they generated $56M opening weekend box office.

The opening scene alone can really rev you up and the musical score helped set the tone for an ultra high octane ride until the end. The action sequences are very impressive and you can really feel the resurgence of your energy with your palms sweating. It is a perfect combination of physical combat, car chases and explosions. The element of a spy movie is still there and didn’t alleviate from the original track of that genre. 

The editing is flawless and storyline was really nicely intertwined to give an ample twist and surpise to the moviegoers. Their cinematography really fits the movie and I like that they somehow use Middle East and Africa as their new hub for location shooting. I love that they utilised more and more high tech gadgets into their mission.

I applaud Tom Cruise for pushing himself to his boundaries to really do the stunts. He still has it in him albeit his age. The infusion of Simon Pegg’s comedic performance really brought balance to the film. I just wished they utilized Jeremy Renner more into the action scenes to make it more epic. But what surprised me is Alec Baldwin’s character. He seemed to have a pivotal part in the film not just some cameo or a 5-minute role.

All in all, I can give 4.5 out of 5 stars. Actually, I could’ve given the movie 5 but somehow the plot became a Hollywood cliched story of “needs to save a friend” but other than that, everything is flawless and I will recommend it.

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Box Office, Hollywood, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

