San Andreas (Review)

imagesI finally got to see another disaster movie and we had a time of our lives. It has been an exhilarating movie for us and I haven’t seen a movie like this for a while wherein I almost forget to breathe. I was clenching my hands from the opening scene until the last minutes of the flick. I was with my sister and brother-in-law when we watched San Andreas and boy I got a big reaction from my sister. The thought of her crying for the most of the film and audience shouting reveal that the movie has really an effect with the moviegoers. I even made a sign of the cross a couple of times, LOL!

Well, watching the film can make you realize on the very existence of survival. What am I going to do when a disaster like that strikes, where will hide or at least run (it reminds me to back to the gym) and all those crazy survival techniques.

I was already expecting the cliché of this movie, the story provides the good guys to survive, family reunites at the end of the movie, the bad guy gets what he deserves and the pen-ultimate scene of destruction before everything subsides. But I got to say Dwayne’s character is very talented in terms of knowing how to pilot a plane, helicopter and drive a speed boat (he knows every mode of transportation!). One thing though that I am unsure if that premise of their story (regarding fault connection reaction thingy between Nevada non-existing Fault and San Andreas Fault) is scientifically correct but it gives a very strong plot to the entire movie.

When we have the good side of the film, we also have some downsides. One is the CGI and VFX which aren’t that flawless. You can feel that they filmed it in a studio with a green effect. Second, I can’t seem to understand why he abandoned his responsibility as a rescuer just to secure his family. I mean he has his moments of saving other people’s lives but most of the time, he doesn’t care at all saving other survivors. Third, there are some scenes that aren’t necessary being part of the film like ex-couple’s cheesy scenes and other character’s one-liners.

All in all, I got to give them 4 out of 5 stars and if you want to ask me if I recommend you watch this, yes! I would definitely tell you to watch it. Though it is not a movie that I love but I really like it and comparing to other disaster movies, this by far is a very effective one. And by the way, Dwayne’s performance is really good, perfect for the role and I couldn’t find another actor to do his character.

Enjoy watching it!!!

About In My Own World

Personal thoughts about Movies, TV Shows, Music and anything under the sun! Proudly Made in CEBU!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Andreas (Review)

  1. Judy says:

    Can’t wait to watch this. Nice review Marc. Keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

